My Hair story: Why natural?

Going natural was one of the hardest decisions of my life. Cutting my hair was a no-no. What if I’m not accepted for my hair choice or if I’m teased? What if my hair texture is not what I really expected, or what society deems as good hair or professional hair? What products should I use and how would I style my hair? Quite a bit right? I was so scared about the results that I forgot about my hair goal: to grow healthy hair.After years of chemical processing and heat damage, it was time to make a change. I became tired of curling irons, hot combs, scalp irritations and missing out on outdoor activities like swimming (those with kinky-curly hair know what I’m talking about!). The last straw for me was when I lost about 60% of my hair due to a bad chemical relaxer. I was mortified and depressed. I kept my hair loss a secret by using clip-on extensions and wigs that were close to the length of my hair before the chemical mishap.  I didn’t have the will power to go cold turkey with relaxers, so I eased my way into using more natural products.  I even started making a few of my own treatments and conditioners and I finally noticed growth. Losing my hair was stressful and depressing, but I soon realized that it was not the end of the world, and that my internal health effects my external appearance: specifically hair, skin and nails.  I learned that healthy hair takes work and patience.As time went on I wanted more. I became fascinated about hair, the way it’s structured and how to take care of it. YouTube and hair blogs became my addiction.  Vloggers like fgrogan, Nikkimae, SimplYounique and Sera2544 are just some of my favorites.  My last relaxer was in June 2010. I always wondered how my natural hair look and felt. I was seven years old when I got my first relaxer, so I really had no recollection of my “natural” beauty…just pictures, and of course memories of my mom and my aunts saying how thick my hair was and how hard it was to manage.

I decided to do the big chop on January 3, 2010 and it was one of the best decisions of my life. My father and brother thought I was going crazy. They are of the belief that a woman’s hair is her “crown and glory”. My mom was initially shocked, but she actually liked my short, natural style after a while. She even decided to do her big chop in March 2011.End result: I am so happy about my hair progress. Besides the financial benefits, I have more freedom. That’s not to say that if you get relaxers you’re committing some awful sin, but for me relaxers eventually did more harm than good. Instead of focussing on length, I am more focussed on the overall state of my hair. Over time I have learned to appreciate my true self. I love my hair…its kinky, curly, coily and a hot mess at times, but still beautiful the way God intended. I may not have a great hair day every day, but life is not perfect…you take the good and the bad and make the best of it.Lesson: Anything good in life requires hard work, dedication and patience.  Stay true to yourself. If you worry about what others think and say, it may prohibit your growth as a person and above all deter you away from the path God has for you.

Learn, Laugh, Grow, Live!

Peace & Blessing!

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://hairaboutthis.wordpress.com/2011/06/24/hello-world/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. Hi, this is a comment.
    To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts’ comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.


Leave a Reply

